The Diamond Pickaxe Awards 2014 – Vote now!

The Diamond Pickaxe Awards 2014

It’s that time of year again: the fourth annual Diamond Pickaxe Awards are here. It’s time to vote on the best of the best – your favorite mods of the year. Anyone can vote, no registration required, just click and submit. We’ve got some new categories and some revamped old ones. There’s 9 categories with 6 nominees each, but you can also write in your own answers, so don’t worry about your favorite mod not being on there. Read on for the polls…

Polls are closed and the winners have been announced! Check them out here!

A few notes before we start:

  • I chose to put shader packs in with texture and resource packs since they don’t really fit in anywhere else.
  • Some categories got thrown out (like the best sound one) due to lack of inactivity in the modding scene related to this category this year. Others got added in because the opposite happened.
  • I chose to put village mods in together with terrain mods due to their overlap.

Mod of the Year

Pack of the Year

Best Mod Focused on Mobs

Best Mod Focused on Terrain

Best Mod focused on Aesthetics

Best Mod Focused on New Mechanics

Best Mod focused on Overhauls of Existing Mechanics

Best Mod focused on Dimensions

Best Mod focused on Existing Franchises

And that’s it! If you’re unfamiliar with some mods in The Diamond Pickaxe Awards, check them out here:

Mod of the Year

Ars Magica 2 – /ars-magica-2
Avatar The Last Blockbender – /avatar-the-last-blockbender
Mo’ Creatures – /new-creatures-guide1
DivineRPG – /divinerpg-overworld
ThaumCraft – /thaumcraft-starters-guide
Optifine – http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/minecraft-mods/1272953-1-8-1-optifine-hd-b4-fps-boost-hd-textures-aa-af

Pack of the Year

Sildur’s Shaders – /sildurs-shaders
Default 3D – /default-3d
Sphax’ PureBDCraft – /sphax
Faithful 32x – /faithful-32x
Dokucraft – http://resourcepack.net/dokucraft-the-saga-continues-resource-pack/
Chroma Hills – /chroma-hills-tp

Best Mod Focused on Mobs

Animals+ – /animalsplus
Slime Carnage – /slime-carnage
Mo’ Creatures – /new-creatures-guide1
Lycanite’s Mobs – /lycanites-mobs-1
OceanCraft – /oceancraft
Mutant Creatures – /mutant-creatures

Best Mod Focused on Terrain

Floating Ruins – /floating-ruins
Biomes O Plenty – /biomes-o-plenty
New Dawn – /new-dawn
Extra Biomes XL – /extrabiomes
Millenaire – /millenaire-villages
Minecraft Comes Alive – /minecraft-comes-aliv

Best Mod focused on Aesthetic

Optifine – http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/minecraft-mods/1272953-1-8-1-optifine-hd-b4-fps-boost-hd-textures-aa-af
More Player Models 2 – /more-player-models
Animated Player – /animated-player
Hats – /hats
Better Foliage – /better-grass-leaves
Tails – /3-cosmetic-mods

Best Mod Focused on New Mechanics

The Camping Mod – /the-camping-mod
Ars Magica 2 – /ars-magica-2
Localized Weather & Stormfronts – /localized-weather-and-stormfronts
Blood Magic – /blood-magic-basics
Unique Artifacts – /unique-artifacts
ThaumCraft – /thaumcraft-starters-guide

Best Mod focused on Overhauls of Existing Mechanics

Zombie Awareness – /zombie-awareness
Wild Caves 3 – /wild-caves-3
Still Hungry – /still-hungry
EnviroMine – /enviromine
SmartMoving – /smart-moving
Bibliocraft – /bibliocraft

Best Mod focused on Dimensions

DivineRPG – /divinerpg-overworld
Aether II – /aether-ii-update-preview
Twilight Forest – http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/minecraft-mods/1276258-the-twilight-forest-v2-3-2-snow-queen-troll
Eternal Isles – http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/minecraft-mods/1286381-eternal-isles-multiple-new-dimensions-85-mobs
Tropicraft – /tropicraft-v3
Galacticraft – http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/minecraft-mods/1287888-galacticraft-3-open-source-4-100-000-downloads

Best Mod focused on Existing Franchises

Avatar The Last Blockbender – /avatar-the-last-blockbender
Doctor Who Client Mod – http://www.minecraftforum.net/forums/mapping-and-modding/minecraft-mods/wip-mods/1439549-doctor-who-client-mod-the-minecraft-whovian
The Lord of the Rings Mod – /upcoming-lotr-mod
Star Wars Mod – /star-wars-mod
AssassinCraft – /assassincraft
Pixelmon – /pixelmon-beta

We hope you enjoyed The Diamond Pickaxe Awards 2014! As always, feel free to leave any feedback in the comment section below, and stay tuned for the results as well as more Minecraft coverage.